GetNetGoing helps make networks work

Bookmark and Share

Microsoft Internet Information Services (IIS) web servers

Microsoft Internet Information Services (IIS) is a popular type of web server software (the main alternative being Apache). The current version is version 7.0

IIS status code extensions

IIS is distinctive in how it extends the 3-digit HTTP status codes by appending a decimal point and a decimal number that provides a more specific substatus. e.g. a 404.8 error means that the file was not found because a directory that is supposed to hold the file has been hidden. For more examples of these substatus codes, see the pages about these HTTP errors: 400 401 403 404 500 502 503 You may have to disable Internet Explorer friendly HTTP error messages in order to see these extended status codes.

Extra information

A third-party IIS resource site, including articles and forums.

Microsoft Knowledge Base article 943891: “The HTTP status codes in IIS 7.0

Copyright (C) 2012 | Site map | Contact us